Welcome

To the Fund Christoffel Plantin

The Fund was created by a few friends who came up with the idea to grant a PRIZE to a person:

  • – with the Belgian nationality,
  • – residing abroad,
  • – active in the cultural, artistic, scientific or social sector,
  • – little known in Belgium,
  • – whose work contributes to the prestige of our country abroad,
  • – who deserves the attention of his compatriots.

From what precedes, one understands why Christoffel Plantin would have liked to link his name to this Fund. The prize is granted annually and consists of a sum of money and a medal. In 2011 it was decided that from then on, the Prize would alternatively be granted in one of the following categories: social engagement (2015, 2018, …), culture (2016, 2019, …) and science (2014, 2017, …).

Contact us

  • Laureates

    Candidates & choice of the laureate

    The laureate is chosen by the board of directors and by the members of the Fund. After a thorough analysis of all documents and after consultation of experts in the domain of the candidates, three candidates are retained by the board of directors. The members are then given the opportunity to choose from these three candidates.

    More info?
  • Christoffel Plantin

    About Christoffel Plantin

    Christoffel Plantin (1520-1589) established himself in Antwerp in 1548 or 1549. He evolved from bookbinder to book-printer in 1555. Christoffel Plantin had quite a few houses in Antwerp, but on the 24th of June 1576 he moved for the the last time to a house called “groote huysinghe” on the Vrijdagmarkt in Antwerp. He changed the name of this house to ‘De gulden Passer’ (i.e. The Golden Compass. After his death, he was succeeded by his son in law and heir Jan Moretus (a latinised form of Moerentorf). He was able to set the basis for the century-long existence of the “Officina Plantiniana”.

    More info?
  • Organisation

    About the Fund

    The Fund is organised as a association without lucrative objective whose statutes have been published in the official Belgian Journal (Belgisch Staatsblad) of October 18th 1973 and modified on May 30th 2006 and May 8th 2008.

    More info?

More Info?

Bienvenue

Chez le Fonds Christoffel Plantin

Le Prix Christoffel Plantin est destiné à récompenser un citoyen:

  • – de nationalité belge,
  • – résidant à l’étranger,
  • – dont les activités culturelles, artistiques et scientifiques,
  • – peu connu en Belgique,
  • – méritant de retenir l’attention de ses compatriotes et
  • – contribuant au rayonnement de la Belgique à l’étranger

Nous comprenons mieux à présent pourquoi Christoffel Plantin a été choisi pour prêter son nom à ce Fonds. Le Prix Christoffel Plantin est octroyé annuellement et consiste en une dotation et une médaille. En 2011, il a été décidé d’accorder le prix Christoffel Plantin annuellement selon l’un des trois secteurs suivants : engagement social (2018, 2021, …), culture (2019, 2022, …) et sciences (2017, 2020, …).

Prendre Contact

  • Lauréats

    Candidats et choix du lauréat

    Le recrutement se fait principalement via les ambassades et consulats belges. Les responsables de ces postes reçoivent du Fonds Plantin un document détaillé ainsi qu’un questionnaire. C’est avec enthousiasme qu’ils y donnent suite et procurent au Fonds Plantin plusieurs candidatures.

    En savoir plus?
  • Christoffel Plantin

    Sur Christoffel Plantin

    Christoffel Plantin (1520 – 1589) s’est installé à Anvers en 1548 ou 1549. Au départ relieur, il devint imprimeur à partir de 1555. Christoffel Plantin a habité diverses demeures à Anvers pour s’établir définitivement en 1576 dans la grande maison patricienne qui donne actuellement sur le Marché du Vendredi (Vrijdagsemarkt) et qu’ il a appelée “ Gulden passer”, le compas doré. Après sa mort, son gendre et héritier Jan Moretus (du latin Moerentorf) lui succéda et posa les bases définitives pour assurer la continuité de la “Officina Plantiniana”.

    En savoir plus?
  • Organisation

    Sur le Fonds

    Le Fonds est une association sans but lucratif, dont les statuts ont été publiés dans le Moniteur Belge du 18 octobre 1973, amendés le 30 mai 2006 et le 8 mai 2008. Aujourd’hui, l’association compte plus de 100 membres.

    En savoir plus?

Plus d' informations?